top of page

On the Road - July: Lessons from coaching

Hi guys

I try to continually remind the younger athletes i work with, that it's OK to find a balance in their lives; that sailing and professional athletics sometimes isn't the "be and end all"...Easier said than done!

Sustainability is something a lot of top athletes struggle with - you regularly hear of people burning out, both physical and mentally.

And its a lesson hard learnt. I've learnt not to question the process too much, I trust in myself and the great team around me - over the last few months training has been fantastic, but so has other aspects of my life and professional development. By refocussing certain areas of life and applying a similar approach as my sailing career, i've been able to find a great balance.

I'm really please with my progress right now, both on and off the water - long may it continue!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© Chris Russell Sailing - 2012-2015

bottom of page